FROZEN TO THE BOND

By Charles Robert Lindholm

I only meant to look

To admire the design

The wonder of the shape

And the beauty of the line

 

The form, the flow, the symmetry

The elegance and grace

But the light upon the surface

Moved me from my place

 

It seemed just like a fantasy

A dream that wasn’t real

Compelled I had to touch it

To see how it would feel

 

Cold as ice, smooth as glass

But I didn’t pull away

Frozen to the bond I made

I knew I’d want to stay

 

I felt I held it firmly

But I began to see

The thing that I was feeling

Had a grip on me

 

I never thought the bond would break

That’s when I felt a drip

The beginning of the end and then

The hold began to slip

 

It never really lasted long

And the frozen bond was broken

The joy of touching ended

And the love to go unspoken

 

Copyright © 2017 Charles Robert Lindholm – All Rights Reserved

20 thoughts on “FROZEN TO THE BOND

  1. This is beyond words, Chuck. Using ice and its melting in your hands to symbolize the love lost and the bond you wished would last forever. Really well done!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I am glad I could make your day, Chuck! I thank you for inviting me to explore your beautiful poems, my dear friend. Hope you have a beautiful week ahead!
        xoxoxo

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I loved the description as in an ice sculpture and the way a frozen bond can seem like it can never be broken but lo’ and behold – poof, it’s gone! Thanks for catching up on me!!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, thank you so much! Your words are so appreciated! I am so happy that You have been reading the others too! Sometimes they get lonely. They really love visitors!!! I will do my best to follow Your wishes!! So wonderful to chat with You!!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.