IN LOVE WITH A MUSE (MY CALLIOPE)

IN LOVE WITH  A MUSE (MY CALLIOPE)

By Charles Robert Lindholm   2-24-2017   4:50 a.m.

 

calliope-greek-museI wait for her each morning

in the backside of the night

in the final hours of darkness

just before, the dawn’s first light

 I long for her arrival

so in darkness I can see

and I listen like a lover

to her whispered words

for me

 she comes and she surrounds me

and the thrill, it still astounds me

 

she softly sighs and tells me

things I need to hear

she wraps herself around me

and gently holds me near

 

and in those tender moments

the ecstasy is real

and I write so I’ll remember

the way she makes me feel

 

I wait for her each morning

in the backside of the night

with a lover’s lust that’s burning

just before, the dawn’s first light

 

and though she’ll never, belong to me

you know each day, I long to be

alone again,

with my, Calliope

© 2017 Charles Robert Lindholm – All Rights Reserved

An inspirational thanks to MKVECCHITTO of STEPS TIMES TWO blog

PingbackChanneling Calliope 

Darkness Whisper – Muse

Learn about Calliope the Muse

 

 

45 thoughts on “IN LOVE WITH A MUSE (MY CALLIOPE)

  1. I am so pleased that you enjoyed this and found it worth your time. Glad it hit home with you. I have to keep reading it over myself as I keep finding it hard to believe it is mine?? You might try writing in “The Back Side Of The Night”. I find the silence and the darkness is a nice way to focus on the words.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Miriam! I think you have described this better than I did? Didn’t quite think of it that way but it is so perceptive of you and right on! True in love and definitely in our desire to keep inspiration coming so that we can write. Thanks for taking time to stop by.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’m so glad it moved you to comment. They really spice up my day. I can surely understand how a Mom would choose a later time than in “The Backside Of The Night”.

      Thanks again for spending time with me. Oh yes, I’m anxiously awaiting the results of your project.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Are you referring to my freelance project? It was published February 20th at Ensia. 🙂 Two additional news outlets have picked it up, too! I have links to it on my blog. If you’re interested, click on Surferbird 51st edition on the homepage. The first paragraph has a couple of links. The Ensia link has the original one. I’m doing some soul searching about where I’m headed at this point. I don’t want my blog to be a conflict of interest for journalistic endeavors. I’ll probably remove the small amount of advertising that I use. I haven’t made any money, anyway, and to be honest, I’m not entirely comfortable with affiliate marketing because it could taint my credibility as a writer. I do plan to keep my blog, though.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh my, I was holding my breath for a long time before you told us you are going to continue to blog. I was starting to turn blue. Ha! I will have to check that out. I didn’t know it was out already. I checked to follow you but haven’t seen any of the posts? I will have to see what’s up with that.

          Give yourself some time to sort things out and you will make the right decisions! Believe in yourself and have faith. You will end up on the right path!!!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much. I really appreciate your comment! Still enjoying your “Just Because”. Read it to my wife and she laughed and agreed that it should be in the script of a movie! Have you thought about joining S Francis and I in our MEME? Ha!

    Like

  3. Though my muse is definitely a “he”, I can understand the whimsical quality of your writing. Knowing the elusive nature of inspiration, wanting to be together for as long as possible, fated to part yet holding on. It was lovely to read your piece. The way you’ve described the waiting for the muse bit, sounds like a lover’s assignation in the dark and just as passionate. Knowing that the experience is fleeting, you try to capture every moment possible. Loved the way you wrote “I write so I’ll remember the way she makes me feel”. So often have I had brilliant plots while asleep and lost it all in my laziness to get up and jot it down! Good stuff, keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for taking your time to read and to comment on this. I’m so glad you were able to hone in to all that I was going for. Since you have experienced the same type of thing as I have your comments are all the more valued! Your description is so right on the mark – wanting to hold on to the Muse but knowing you never can, just visits.

      Looking forward to your insights on the other two poems! I know the feeling of trying to recapture something that came to you in a half dazed sleep.

      Looking forward to your new posts!!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. LOL!! You are so funny! To tell you the truth I am more than willing to share as long as you still leave her with enough time for me! Writing half as well as me? Ha! Girl, I’m eating your dust!

          When the moment arrives you have to deal with it and get it down. Even if it’s like drinking out of a Firehose! See you when you get done!

          Liked by 1 person

            1. Yes, I agree! Meeting new Muses. Never hurts to have a bigger circle of Muses?? What? Did your Muse not leave you his new number? (sorry, couldn’t pass that up). Thanks for visiting and commenting and making this FUN.

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

