DROPLET

 

By Charles Robert Lindholm  1-27-2017  –  8:30 p.m.

 

The strand of web vibrates

and the spider darts out

to see what he has captured.

only a droplet?

disappointed

he returns to hiding

 

he won’t be fooled again

as more droplets

fall from the skies

and onto his web.

raindrops on a spider’s web?

 

No, teardrops from my eyes

as my broken heart tries

to forget

you

 © 2017 Charles Robert Lindholm

Inspired by Candice-Marie’s WPC GRACEFUL – photo “Raindrops on a Spider Web”

 

3 thoughts on “DROPLET

  1. I love the contrast between the first two verses and the last verse Charles. After a while the spider forgets they are raindrops and takes his chance once more, only to be fooled again. An excellent poem. This will have me thinking over the weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I liked that twist we have talked about before – it makes it fun to have a little “reveal”. True about the spiders. They will rebuild a web no matter how many times you know it down. I was inspired by Candice-Marie’s – “Raindrops on a spider web” really a great photo. https://myfirst10000photos.com/2017/01/21/graceful/comment-page-1/#comment-477

      I feel so honored that I have provoked you to thought! Ha! You do that to me all the time! Turnabout?? Thanks for the kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

