I AM NOT A POET

By Charles Robert Lindholm  1-20-2017  @ 11:30 p.m.

 

I AM NOT A POET

I AM JUST A SCRIBE

WRITING DOWN THE WORDS

THE UNIVERSE WHISPERS

TO ME ON THE WIND

 

THE WORDS SING

TO NATURE’S SONG

THEY SPEAK TO THE SOUL

AND TOUCH OUR HEARTS

THEY BRING TEARS TO OUR EYES

AND SMILES TO OUR FACES

THEY HIDE THEIR DEEPEST MEANING

BETWEEN THE LINES AND THE SPACES

 

THEY TELL ME THEIR NAME

THEY TELL ME THEIR STORY

BUT I AM NOT A POET

I AM A SCRIBE

 © 2017 Charles Robert Lindholm

Inspired by DavyD’s -“KINAADMAN” on Inside The Mind Of DavyD on WordPress.com Pingback – Click Here to view  

15 thoughts on “I AM NOT A POET

  1. Fantastic Charles. I am humbled that my poem could inspire this excellent poem from you. When I write some of my poetry I look at them as seeds that people can take away and grow, so thank you for proving to me the path I am on is the right one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Davy, Thank you so much for your kind words!! They mean so much to me! I’m glad you liked it! One of these days I will have to try and distill some of what I write into three lines. I don’t know how you manage to do it, but it is impressive.

      It is wonderful for me to be inspired by something you have done so that it moves me to write. Thanks for helping to point me in the right direction (to write more poetry). Yes, you are very right that your poetry is like a seed. It has helped me grow and look at issues and questions that have been a real help and encouragement to me. I always look forward to your posts!

      You are more than on the right path – you are well on your way to the mountaintop!!

      Have you had a chance to contact Susan yet?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Charles, this means a lot. A lot of the three line poems start as many words and I try to reduce them to their basic concept. Also thanks for the reminder I will send Susan an email today.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Well, it seems you have hit a great process for distillation! They are so elegant and insightful.

          I think you will be interested in what Susan is doing and has done and see some possibilities for you on your “path”. Check out the reviews of her book “Poemcrazy” on Amazon.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful poem and creatively expressed; very nice; and I also like how the other commenter above, states how he hopes his poems are inspirational. As I’ve often wished mine to be as well. When it comes to creativity i do believe I was given an extra dose, 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Colly!! I appreciate your kind words so much. Yes, DavyD’s works are really great and inspire me. If you haven’t checked out his blog I would encourage you to do so – Inside the Mind of DavyD. I love that he captures such power and imagery in three lines (often). I think you might enjoy it.

      I can tell you that your work for sure is an inspiration and joy to read. Keep it up! Also, thanks for following. I hope you find it worthy of your time.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. i find words give their actual meaning when said by someone else – this is especially so when you say you are not a poet but a scribe – aren’t we that then – recording things the wind tells us, the earth releases and from the feelings we get from touching same stones and walls others did before us, we record the thoughts they left lingering in those stones and in the air – you inspire me not to write new poetry but to love the ones that already existed before me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, so impressive!! Elegantly expressed. I think that too. About others having gone before and tracing paths they have taken. I’m so happy you get the “Whispers on the wind”!! Ok, but you do need to write down the ones you find and hear. Forgot to tell you that the Photo on “Exquisite Performance” was of Emerald Bay, Lake Tahoe, California. One of the best places ever to watch a sunrise.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

